Great Expectations

A repost from my other blog. Hope you enjoy!

I know when I started this blog I promised to talk about my trip to Africa. As of yet, I haven’t followed through. Until now.

 

When God called me to go to Africa, I had a pretty varied response. Some days I was happy, excited. Other days I was terrified. My reaction vacillated from “No God, I can’t go,” to, “Yes, Lord, your will be done.”

 

I was all over the board. But, eventually, as He brought the pieces of the puzzle together, I began to have peace about the trip. Finally, I came to a place of surrender, where I let go of (most) of my apprehension and committed myself to going.

 

It was when I stepped across the threshold of the plane leaving JFK…bound for Kenya.

 

Despite my fears, there was part of me, all along, that knew deep down, I was willing to…

View original post 634 more words

2 thoughts on “Great Expectations

  1. I do believe Kenya is one of the most beautiful places on earth and my experience there was much like yours – I was going to help and give but what I realized was that I went to be changed and to receive. I went with my oldest son who is a photographer and he took some amazing pictures but they could still never capture our experience.

    • I am a photographer, but our decision was NOT to take the best equipment in fear it would get damaged, or stolen. a regret I’ll probably have forever. But, like you said–photographs don’t really even capture it. You have to be there. You have to smell the rain on red dirt, feel the music of children’s voices. You have to behold. Abide.
      Maybe we will both go back, someday~

Leave a Reply

