DEAL or NO DEAL

Ireland Global Summit 264

Never. That’s the best time to ask God a question for which you truly do not want answer. As my husband often says, the second Tuesday of next week…

So why would anyone in their right mind, when browsing innocently through the blog of a new friend, upon seeing the post do you need a zebra coat to feel content, investigate this?

Of course, I don’t need  a zebra coat to feel content. I feel fine. I’m content.

I am.

I don’t need anything to feel content. Well…except maybe, just…you know a few things. Like a warm bed, and food, and…and…my make-up, and Chi straightener…and…wait a minute! Those are just basic necessities, right? I mean it’s not like I should give those up. I mean how crazy would it be to give up basic things like, um say…clothes.

Like, maybe a 365 day challenge to not buy any clothes for a year. Did she say a YEAR? because, you know, a year is long time. A whole lot could happen in a year! I might need clothes. New clothes. Or at least, new to me clothes. Does underwear count? What about shoes, or worse…purses! Gasp! 

Oh my goodness, how would one survive such terror? How? It’s so…taboo. And I’ll admit, when I first saw it I steered away. Oh yes I did mam. Right away. There will no conviction happenin’ here. No siree Bob. This girl happens to like clothes, and she is staying as far away from that challenge as possible.

But God said no. Go read that post, he said. Look at the Zebra coat Pamela Hodges passed over, (with a purple lining no less!!!) and at a Goodwill so you know it was affordable. She didn’t need it to feel content. Aren’t you content He said. Hmmm?

So back I clicked, and I did read on. And then I did a very dumb thing, I even told her I would pray and ask God if I should join her! Yes! I know!? I am, in fact, CRAZY. Mostly because I was already about 500% sure I knew exactly what God would say (again, did I  mention I was thinking irrationally…don’t ever assume to know Gods thoughts. Just don’t. Trust me on this. Please…)

And also, as an aside, don’t ever out loud say you’re gonna pray about something, especially if you *think* you already know what God will say. No, really. I mean that. Cause here’s the thing, God does not require your direct inquisition for His spirit to move. Nope, nope, nope. (And here I insert the most heartfelt LOL. ever.) He will often tell you what He thinks even if you don’t ask.

And because God loves me, when I opened my devotional book the next morning this is what I found…

But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more clothe you? You of little faith! “Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ “For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.…(Matthew 6:30-32)

IMG_1162 IMG_1163

There it was. Plain as day. Smack dab in the middle of page 86, an answer. Unfortunately, God wasn’t done speaking to me on this subject. He was going to meddle. Yes, I said meddle.

Ever had God meddle in your affairs? The only thing I can think of is the end of every episode of Scooby Doo I watched as a child. You know, when they finally caught the villain, Daphne would whip the mask off his head, everyone would gasp, and then he’d say (verbatim) “And I would have gotten away with it too! If it wasn’t for these meddling kids!”

Am I the bad guy? Because I buy clothes? Because I like buying clothes? What if I stop? If I stop buying clothes does that make a good guy? What if I don’t buy them? What if, they are free! What if it’s not clothes I buy, or acquire, maybe it’s something else? Hmm? What then God?

What if it’s…scrapbook paper? Or neat pens (I like neat pens…)? Or maybe it’s fancy wall decorations, or cookware, or a lamp shade, or soft bedding, paintings? Paint? More art supplies in general? Antiques? Can I get more antiques Lord? Please? I just loooovvvveee me some antiques! They’re old God, you know someone has to have them. Why not me? Or tools! My husband loves tools, if I am buying for someone else is it okay? Because my mom has these dogs…they could maybe use dog sweaters? Blingy bowls? Special expensive food? I don’t know…training?

Is everything bad God? Common’! What’s the point? Can’t I just buy whatever makes me happy?

Oh, wait…is that what you’re saying? That I shouldn’t find my happiness in things, but in You?

Are you saying that it’s NOT about what I buy or don’t buy (with-in reason…) but about the state of my heart and my relationship with my Creator God?

Why didn’t you just say that?

Oh…you have. I just haven’t been listening.

Well, I am now.

That dress in the picture up top might have been a deal breaker for me. I took that picture through a boutique window in downtown Dublin, Ireland, in 2009. I’ve not forgotten the dress and the way it shimmered, the simple style and cut (if you can refer to something rhinestone encrusted as simple.)

But, I don’t feel God is calling me to give up clothes buying for a year. And honestly, after many tears, I realize that He is calling me to a life made more simple through intention living, including how I spend, save, and feel about my material resources, including clothes. I plan to buy less, give more, and most importantly, give God His rightful place as the supreme source of joy in my life~

Still don’t think I’ll see that dress at the Goodwill though. Darn it. 😉

2 thoughts on “DEAL or NO DEAL

  1. Oh Pamela, I love your writing. You are so funny. When I read your stories it is like we are sitting together drinking coffee and we are having a conversation.
    Thank you for sharing my story.

    • Thank-you! I’m so glad! I love your writing as well! Maybe someday we can have that coffee. Until then, just grab a cup and click on over friend 🙂
      And since I won’t be out shopping too often I will have plenty of time to write more~

Leave a Reply

